Faculty

Iqbal Akhtar

Iqbal Akhtar, Assistant Professor

Email: iakhtar@fiu.edu
Office: DM 359B
Areas of Specialization: Advanced Interpretation of the Quran, Voice of the Prophet, Islamic Faith and Society, Women in Islam, and Islamic Mysticism (Sufism).

Aslihan Akkaya

Aslihan Akkaya, Assistant Professor

Email: aaslihan@fiu.edu Office: MMC, SIPA 315
Phone: (305) 348-7555
Areas of Specialization: Language and Media, Language and Piety, Turkish Diaspora, Social Movements

Daniel Alvarez

Daniel Alvarez, Senior Instructor & Associate Director

Email: alvarezd@fiu.edu
Office: DM 304A
Areas of Specialization: Protestant Theology, Reformation, Evangelicalism, World Religions

Ferial Maya Boutaghou

Ferial Maya Boutaghou, Assistant Professor

Email: fboutagh@fiu.edu
Office: DM 210
Phone: (305) 348-1201
Areas of Specialization: Arabic Literature, Women and Islam, Muslim Diaspora

Cyra Choudhury

Cyra Choudhury, Professor

Email: Cyra.Choudhury@fiu.edu
Phone: (305) 348-1153
Areas of Specialization: Postcolonial Theory, Critical Theory, International Law, and Law in Islamic Societies

Shlomi Dinar

Shlomi Dinar, Associate Dean, Green School of Intl. and Public Affairs

Email: Shlomi.Dinar@fiu.edu
Office: SIPA 526
Phone: (305) 348-6958
Areas of Specialization: International Environmental Politics, Non-traditional Security Studies, Conflict Resolution and International Negotiation.

Mohamed K. Ghumrawi

Mohamed K. Ghumrawi, Instructor

Email: mghumraw@fiu.edu
Office: SIPA 528
Areas of Specialization: Middle East politics, Foreign Policy, Security Studies, State Formation and Development, Conflict Resolution, Palestinian/Israeli relations.

Erik Larson

Erik Larson, Associate Professor

Email: larsone@fiu.edu
Office: DM303
Areas of Specialization: New Testament, Christian Origins, Ancient Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls, the Middle East, Interfaith Dialogue

Qing Lai

Qing Lai, Assistant Professor of Sociology

Email: qlai@fiu.edu
Office: SIPA 313
Areas of Specialization: Chinese Muslim society, social demography, social stratification, sociology of development

Eric Lob

Eric Lob, Assistant Professor

Email: elob@fiu.edu
Office: SIPA 401
Areas of Specialization: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Middle East and Development Studies with a focus on Iran, Lebanon, and Syria.

Mohiaddin Mesbahi

Mohiaddin Mesbahi, Founding Director & Associate Professor

Email: mesbahim@fiu.edu
Office: SIPA 435
Phone: (305) 348-1857
Areas of Specialization: Islam and Politics, National Security and Strategic Studies, Soviet/Russian Foreign Policy, International Relations of Central Asia.

Sara Pezeshk

Sara Pezeshk, Visiting Assistant Professor

Email: spezeshk@fiu.edu

Tudor Parfitt

Tudor Parfitt, Distinguished Professor

Email: tparfitt@fiu.edu
Office: DM 369
Areas of Specialization: The periphery of the Jewish world, Judaising movements, Muslim-Jewish Relations, the Jews of the Yemen, Jews of the Muslim world, the Sephardi World, Conversos, Jews in Africa and the Americas.

Terrence Peterson

Terrence Peterson, Assistant Professor

Email: tpeterso@fiu.edu
Office: DM 390
Areas of Specialization: North Africa, Islam in Europe

Seema Pissaris

Seema Pissaris, Clinical Professor of Entrepreneurship

Email: spissari@fiu.edu
Office: RB 310
Phone: (305) 348-2794
Areas of Specialization: Corporate Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Family Business, Executive Compensation, Leadership, Social Entrepreneurship, Strategic Management of Non-Profit Organizations.

Naisy Sarduy

Naisy Sarduy, Instructor

Email: nsarduy@fiu.edu

Office: MMC, SIPA 402

Areas of Specialization: Middle East Politics, International Relations of the Middle East, Contemporary Problems in International Relations

Benjamin Smith

Benjamin Smith, Assistant Professor

Email: Benjamin.Smith@fiu.edu
Office: SIPA 305
Phone: (305) 348-2074
Areas of Specialization: Landscape, Cultural Economy, Middle East, Urban Geography.

Oren Stier

Oren Stier, Professor

Email: stiero@fiu.edu
Areas of Specialization: Judaic Studies, Religion and Culture

Saeed Moshvegheganeh, Post-Doctoral Fellow

Email: saeed.moshfeghyeganeh@fiu.edu